## Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20510

April 19, 2023

The Honorable Antony Blinken Secretary of State The United States Department of State 2201 C Street NW Washington, D.C. 20520

Dear Secretary Blinken,

We are writing regarding the unjust detention of U.S. Legal Permanent Resident and Russian dissident Vladimir Kara-Murza, who was recently sentenced to a 25-year prison sentence in Russia. It is our desire that Mr. Kara-Murza, who has been wrongfully detained by President Putin's regime for his anti-war speech, receive the official status of wrongfully detained under the Levinson Act (22 U.S.C. 1741 et seq.) and that the U.S. government use its resources, including those under the July 19, 2022, Executive Order, to free him.

A 41-year-old anti-Putin politician, journalist, and filmmaker, he was arrested on his trip to Russia because he used a series of speeches around the world to publicly oppose political repression in Russia and the invasion of Ukraine. After his arrest, he was charged with treason. His wife and three children remain in the United States, where the family has lived for years.

Since his arrest in April 2022, Mr. Kara-Murza has suffered from unjust treatment. His health has declined, and he has lost 40 pounds. As a result of two poisonings President Putin inflicted on him during trips to Russia in 2015 and 2017, he had already been diagnosed with polyneuropathy. He has now lost feeling in both feet and one arm. Even under Russian law, such a diagnosis should lead to his release. It is very likely he will die soon unless he is released. Unfortunately, yet predictably, the Russian courts have violated their own law to keep him detained.

As Mr. Kara-Murza faces his 25-year sentence, he remains steadfast in his beliefs. His only crime is using his voice to oppose Putin's evil. It is in the U.S. national interest to save his life and liberate him from Russian captivity. As a first step to that end, we strongly urge that he be designated under the Levinson Act as "unlawfully and wrongfully detained."

Sincerely,

ROGER F. WICKER United States Senator

BENJAMIN L. CARDIN United States Senator

JAMES E. RISCH United States Senator

ane Chakeen

JEANNE SHAHEEN United States Senator

MITCH MCCONNELL United States Senator

<u>/s/</u> JACK REED United States Senator

JOHN THUNE United States Senator

CHARLES E. GRASSLEY United States Senator

MARSHA BLACKBURN United States Senator

/s/ BOB MENENDEZ United States Senator

RICHARD J. DURBIN United States Senator

AMY CLOBUCHAR United States Senator

<u>/s/</u> LINDSEY GRAHAM United States Senator

MARCO RUBIO United States Senator

<u>/s/</u> MARK WARNER United States Senator

CHRISTOPHER A. COONS United States Senator

illis

THOM TILLIS United States Senator

TIM KAINE

United States Senator

DAN SULLIVAN United States Senator

RICK SCOTT United States Senator

PETE RICKETTS United States Senator

<u>/s/</u> MICHAEL BENNET United States Senator

TAMMY BALDWIN United States Senator

APHAEL WARNOCK United States Senator

<u>/s/</u> TED BUDD United States Senator

RON JOHNSON United States Senator

JONI ERNST United States Senator

/s/ MARTIN HEINRICH United States Senator

lancu Yel

NANCY PELOSI Member of Congress

STEVE COHEN Member of Congress

IOHN KENNEDY United States Senator

MITT ROMNEY United States Senator

TOMMY TUBERVILLE United States Senator

KEVIN CRAMER United States Senator

JOHN BOOZMAN United States Senator

MIKE LEE United States Senator

CINDY

United States Senator

JAMES P. MCGOVERN Member of Congress

JENNIFER WEXTON Member of Congress

RO KHANNA Member of Congress

DONALD S. BEYER, JR. Member of Congress

Member of Congress

<u>/s/</u> ANDRE CARSON Member of Congress

BETTY ICCOLLUM

Member of Congress

TOD YO JG United States Senator

J. VANCE United States Senator

ERIC SCHMITT United States Senator

CYNTHIA LUM MIS United States Senator

MIKE ROUNDS United States Senator

Suran M. Collina

SUSAN COLLINS United States Senator

MARKWAYNE MULLIN United States Senator

EMANUEL CLEAVER, II

Member of Congress

**BARBARA LEE** Member of Congress

Member of Cong

unde (

LINDA T. SÁNCHEZ Member of Congress

DONALD G. DAVIS Member of Congress

SON CROW Member of Congress

COLIN ALLRED Member of Congress

TIM SCOTT

United States Senator

JOE WILSON Member of Congress

tulon

RICHARD HUDSON Member of Congress

<u>/s/</u>\_\_\_\_\_ BRIAN FITZPATRICK Member of Congress

MICHAEL GUEST Member of Congress

MIKE EZELL Member of Congress

RYAN ZINKE Member of Congress

MAX MILLER Member of Congress

CHRIS SMITH Member of Congress

Taule J 15A DON BACON

Member of Congress

1\_

THOMAS H. KEAN, JR. Member of Congress