Romney Joins Bill to Prevent Student Loan Bailout for Convicted Campus Protestors

WASHINGTON—U.S. Senator Mitt Romney (R-UT) today joined Senator Tom Cotton (R-AR) and 17 of their Republican colleagues in introducing the No Bailouts for Campus Criminals Act, legislation that would make any individual who is convicted of a state or federal offense in connection with a campus protest ineligible for federal student loan relief. The bill comes as widespread antisemitic protests spread on college campuses across the United States. Representative Brandon Williams (R-NY) led companion legislation in the House.

“The Biden Administration’s student loan relief schemes are unfair and irresponsible—forcing hardworking Americans to pay off debts they never agreed to take on—and I introduced the Student Loan Accountability Act in 2022 to block these schemes. But no one should especially support a taxpayer bailout for students who engage in the criminal behavior we’re seeing on college campuses across the nation right now,” said Senator Romney. “Our legislation ensures that students convicted of a crime while protesting at our institutions of higher education are ineligible for federal student debt relief.”

“Americans who never went to college or responsibly paid off their debts shouldn’t have to pay off other people’s student loans. They especially shouldn’t have to pay off the loans of Hamas sympathizers shutting down and defacing campuses,” said Senator Cotton.

“Violent campus protestors laughably demand respect, amnesty, and even takeout food. Our bicameral bill ensures that not one student protestor convicted of criminal offenses is bailed out by student loan forgiveness. Not one dime of taxpayer money will fund these criminals,” said Representative Williams.

In addition to Senators Romney and Cotton, this legislation is cosponsored by U.S. Senators Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Katie Britt (R-AL), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Steve Daines (R-MT), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Josh Hawley (R-MO), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Roger Marshall (R-KS), James Risch (R-ID), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Tim Scott (R-SC), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Tommy Tuberville (R-AL), J.D. Vance (R-OH), and Roger Wicker (R-MS).

Full text of the legislation can be found here.