Romney Joins Colleagues in Commemorating National Police Week

Bipartisan resolution honors 576 officers lost in the line of duty in 2021

WASHINGTON—The U.S. Senate yesterday unanimously adopted a resolution marking National Police Week and reiterating support for the men and women in law enforcement. Senator Romney co-sponsored the bipartisan resolution, led by Judiciary Committee Ranking Member Chuck Grassley (R-IA) and Chair Dick Durbin (D-IL), with 83 of his Senate colleagues.

“Each day, our men and women in law enforcement put their lives on the line to protect their communities. During National Police Week, we recognize the service and sacrifice of our law enforcement officers—a job which can often take a heavy personal toll. We also take pause to remember the men and women whose lives have been tragically lost in the line of duty,” said Senator Romney. “Our thoughts are with their families and loved ones. I especially want to thank all of those officers in Utah, as well as those who serve in our United States Capitol Police force. We are continuing to pray for their safety.”

The resolution honors the 576 law enforcement officers who were killed in the line of duty in 2021, including nearly 400 who died from COVID-19, as well as the 92 lost to date in 2022. Last year marked the most intentional killings of police since the September 11, 2001, attacks. In the face of an ongoing pandemic and rise in violent crime, law enforcement personnel continue to answer the call, serving their communities, often at great risk to themselves.

The resolution designates the week of May 15 through May 21, 2022, as “National Police Week,” and expresses unwavering support for law enforcement officers across the United States in the pursuit of preserving safe and secure communities.

Along with Grassley and Durbin, the resolution is co-sponsored by Senators Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Angus King (I-ME), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), Catherine Cortez-Masto (D-NV), Susan Collins (R-ME), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Shelly Moore Capito (R-WV), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), James Risch (R-ID), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Gary Peters (D-MI), John Hoeven (R-ND), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Tommy Tuberville (R-AL), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Rand Paul (R-KY), Chris Coons (D-DE), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), John Thune (R-SD), Jack Reed (D-RI), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Edward Markey (D-MA), John Barrasso (R-WY), Raphael Warnock (D-GA), Rick Scott (R-FL), Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ), Todd Young (R-IN), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Jim Inhofe (R-OK), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Mitch McConnell (R-KY), Mark Kelly (D-AZ), Pat Toomey (R-PA), Jon Tester (D-MT), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Tom Carper (D-DE), Steve Daines (R-MT), Michael Bennett (D-CO), Richard Burr (R-NC), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Rob Portman (R-OH), Robert Menendez (D-NJ), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Roger Marshall (R-KS), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), John Kennedy (R-LA), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), Ben Sasse (R-NE), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), John Cornyn (R-TX), Mike Braun (R-IN), Richard Shelby (R-AL), John Boozman (R-AR), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Josh Hawley (R-MO), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Mike Rounds (R-SD), James Lankford (R-OK), Cynthia Lummis (R-WY), Ron Johnson (R-WI), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Mike Lee (R-UT), Tim Scott (R-SC), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Jon Ossoff (D-GA), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Bob Casey (D-PA), Mark Warner (D-VA), Ben Ray Luján (D-NM) and John Hickenlooper (D-CO).

Text of the resolution is available here.