Romney Joins Resolution Declaring April Financial Literacy Month

WASHINGTON—U.S. Senator Mitt Romney (R-UT) today joined Senators Tim Scott (R-SC) and Jack Reed (D-RI) in introducing a resolution to declare April as Financial Literacy Month. Recognized by the U.S. Senate since 2004, Financial Literacy Month is a national celebration of financial empowerment that raises awareness on the importance of financial education and providing resources to help Americans of all ages develop and maintain healthy financial habits.

“We must do better to ensure Americans—especially our young people—are equipped with the financial knowledge to plan and prepare for the future,” Senator Romney said. “With this resolution, we hope to raise awareness about the importance of financial education and building healthy financial habits.”

“Financial literacy is the cornerstone to achieving financial independence and opening the pathway to the American Dream. Throughout my time in Congress, and as the top Republican on the Senate Banking Committee, I’ve made it my mission to champion programs and resources that make financial education more accessible. This resolution furthers that work by helping to bring awareness to this important topic,” said Banking Committee Ranking Member Scott.

“From managing a household budget to making major purchases, paying for college, starting a business, and laying the foundation for a secure retirement, financial literacy is a lifelong endeavor. Unfortunately, too many Americans lack basic financial literacy to make informed decisions, and this has impacts on their children, local communities, and generations to come. Raising awareness about the resources available to improve financial literacy is the first step on the path to a financially secure future. I’m pleased our Senate colleagues are coming together on a bipartisan basis to recognize and celebrate the twentieth annual Financial Literacy Month,” said Banking Committee Member Senator Reed.

Senators Dick Durbin (D-IL), Susan Collins (R-ME), Mike Crapo (R-ID), John Barrasso (R-WY), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Jim Risch (R-ID), Angus King (I-ME), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Bill Cassidy, M.D. (R-LA), Steve Daines (R-MT), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Mike Braun (R-IN), and Rick Scott (R-FL) also cosponsored the resolution.

Full text of the resolution here.