Romney Joins Colleagues in Denouncing D.C. Bill Letting Illegal Immigrants Vote in Local Elections

WASHINGTON—U.S. Senator Mitt Romney (R-UT) cosponsored a resolution introduced by Senator Tom Cotton (R-AR) formally disapproving of the District of Columbia Council approving legislation that would let illegal immigrants vote in D.C. local elections. Rep. James Comer (KY-01) introduced the joint resolution in the House.

Senators Blackburn (R-TN), Braun (R-IN), Britt (R-AL), Cornyn (R-TX), Cramer (R-ND), Crapo (R-ID), Daines (R-MT), Ernst (R-IA), Fischer (R-NE), Grassley (R-IA), Hagerty (R-TN), Hoeven (R-ND), Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Kennedy (R-LA), McConnell (R-KY), Marshall (R-KS), Risch (R-ID), Scott (R-FL), Scott (R-SC), Sullivan (R-AK), Rubio (R-FL), Thune (R-SD), Tillis (R-NC), Vance (R-OH), and Young (R-IN) also joined in cosponsoring the resolution.

If passed by the House and Senate—and signed by the President—the joint resolution would prevent the D.C. council’s proposed legislation from going into effect. The text of the joint resolution can be found here.